Green Smoothies Can Help Lower High Cholesterol

Many years ago, my doctor informed me that my cholesterol was too high and required medication to lower the LDL (bad cholesterol) level.  I decided against taking his recommendation and to take matters into my own hands by educating myself and making healthy lifestyle changes.  I developed an exercise routine that included cardio and strength training.  I also learned to eat more nutritious foods and include more fiber in my diet. 

My efforts paid off tremendously.  By the time I went back for my next doctor’s visit I had successfully reduced my cholesterol level without medication.  Another healthy benefit was that I avoided the expenses associated with taking medication.

Too much cholesterol in the blood can lead to heart disease and stroke.  These are major causes of death in America.  The fear of high cholesterol is a condition that has created great fear around the world.  In the book ‘Selling Sickness:  How the World’s Biggest Pharmaceutical Companies Are Turning Us All Into Patients’, Ray Moynihan enlightens us about how nations everywhere have spent more on cholesterol-lowering drugs in recent years than any other category of prescription medicines.   

The tendency to have high cholesterol increases if it runs in your family.  However, many people are experiencing high cholesterol levels due to unhealthy habits, such as lack of exercise, diets that include processed foods and are high in saturated fats. 

Drinking green smoothies is a healthy habit that will help towards maintaining and reducing cholesterol levels.  Green smoothies are loaded with nutrients and fiber.  They are very easy to make and taste delicious.  A green smoothie is simply a fruit smoothie with leafy greens added.  This is an excellent way to get more healthy greens into your diet and help manage your cholesterol level. 

Green for Life by Victoria Boutenko is an excellent book to help you get started if you are new to drinking green smoothies. 

We must empower ourselves to take control of our health with education and motivation to develop healthier habits to avoid taking medication if possible.

To your health,

~Melissa

www.feelingofwellness.com

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dogsmom
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 13:23:53

    I had a similar experience. My numbers were through the roof and I did start on meds, but never got them refilled. The Dr. was going to yell at me but saw my numbers were looking pretty good and said we’d recheck in 6 months. At that time they were better. So lifestyle seems to work better than meds for me.
    Have not started with the healthy drinks yet, but is something to look into.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

